Home \ Professional Development \ Awards


Below you will find more information on the Kathleen Tattersall New Assessment Researcher Award and the AEA-Europe Conference Poster Award.

 The Kathleen Tattersall New Assessment Researcher Award

Congratulations to the winner of the 2016 New Assessment Researcher Award: Dr. Sebastiaan De Klerk

We are delighted to announce that the winner of the Kathleen Tattersall New Assessment Researcher Award for 2016 is DR. SEBASTIAAN DE KLERK, PhD Student at eX:plain and the Research Center for Examinations and Certification (a collaboration between the University of Twente and the National Institute for Test Development (Cito)).

The jury felt Sebastiaan’s CV details a substantial body of published research.  His work involved the first ever systematic review of the psychometric analysis of performance data in performance based assessment. This is clearly innovative. 

Sebastiaan has made a significant contribution to the field of assessment, having developed a novel assessment approach with the potential to improve the quality of assessment of vocational competence and perhaps the quality of assessment more generally. He has explored this new approach thoroughly, from a variety of perspectives, and demonstrated its potential. He has demonstrated his ability to write for publication in academic journals and book chapters, and has presented the outcomes from his research widely. 

Past Award winners:

2007: Hanna Eklof, Umea University, Sweden

2008: Antonella Poce,  University  Roma Tre, Italy

2009: Saskia Wools, CITO, The Netherlands

2010: Therese Nerheim Hopfenbeck, University of Oslo, Norway

2011: Matthieu Brinkhuis, Cito Psychometric Research Center, Netherlands

2012: Maria Teresa Florez, Oxford University Centre for Educational Assessment, UK

2013: Fabienne Van Der Kleij, CITO, Netherlands

2014: Yasmine El Masri, Oxford University Centre for Educational Assessment, UK

2015: Ronny Scherer, Centre for Educational Measurement at the University of Oslo, Norway 

About the New Researcher Award

Are you new to the world of educational assessment? Do you and your colleagues feel your work makes a considerable contribution to the field?

In 2007, AEA-Europe introduced an award for new researchers in the assessment arena. Each year a new recipient is chosen.

The winner of the award receives the opportunity to make a keynote presentation at the AEA-Europe Annual Conference. As keynote speaker, the conference fee is met by the Association and the winner is also eligible for support with the cost of travel to the conference. The winner also receives 500 Euros and a certificate to acknowledge the award.

AEA-Europe Poster Award

AEA–Europe encourages its membership to submit poster proposals for its Annual Conference each year. It is a very effective way for professionals engaged in assessment to present their work, having the opportunity to exchange ideas, get feedback to improve their work and develop new, shared projects together with other experts in the field. Please see the following pdf document for further details of the award and the selection process. 


Member Login